• Welcome to My Creative Year!

    Thanks so much for coming to see what I've been up to. I'm in the midst of a self-challenge to *create* for a year straight. I needed something to fill a weird void I was feeling, and exploring different styles of art and creativity seems to fit the bill! So, Welcome! I'm glad you've come for a visit...
  • Heartfelt Thanks

    I don't always have a chance to thank everyone who leaves such lovely comments on my projects. I just want to express my appreciation for your encouragement and compliments on my creative journey. You are all greatly appreciated!
  • See What Else I’m Up To…

  • RSS Lotus Mahal

  • RSS Ditch the Grid

  • 2010 Creative Goals

    *Make more aprons
    *Make a coffee cup cozy for me!
    *Make a mug cozy
    *Alter a book – completely, with highlights from each month of 2010.
    *Journal more.
    *Pin Cushions!
    *A needle keeper too.
    *Produce bags.
    *Muslin sacks for bulk items like seeds and nuts and rice and such, too.
    *Re-usable sandwich wraps.
    *Budget envelopes.
    *Learn to crochet and knit.
    *Continue embroidering and get better at it.
    *Take more pictures.
    *Learning to sprout wheat
    *Learn to make my own bread with sprouted grain
    *Learn to make mead and wine
    *Learn to make cheese and yogurt from scratch.
    *Experiment with grinding my own grains
    *Do more canning

  • Though Shalt Not Steal

Love this idea

Aren’t these the cutest?

I want to poach this idea.  They’re Christmas ornaments made from old wooden thread spools!  I went to a craft show at the local high school this morning, and among other things, I found these super cute ornaments!  One is hand painted, the other is simply done with stickers and beads.  I.  Adore.  This.  Idea!

I inherited a bunch of my Mom’s old sewing stuff, and in the mix were a bunch of spools of thread that I bet are from the 1960s.  All wooden spools.  Some large.  Some small.  My mind is going crazy with the possibilities!  I had to share this idea with everyone.  I’m loving these so so soooo much!  They were bought for stocking stuffers, but the inspiration is going to remain with me.

2 Responses

  1. Thanks so much! I was messing around with my blog the other day and noticed an option to add snow during the holidays. 🙂 Of course I took advantage of it!

    Thanks for visiting my blog. The photography on your site is really beautiful. I love macro photography – and you do it well!

  2. They are lovely. I also enjoy a sprinkling of snow on your page.

Leave a Reply

