• Welcome to My Creative Year!

    Thanks so much for coming to see what I've been up to. I'm in the midst of a self-challenge to *create* for a year straight. I needed something to fill a weird void I was feeling, and exploring different styles of art and creativity seems to fit the bill! So, Welcome! I'm glad you've come for a visit...
  • Heartfelt Thanks

    I don't always have a chance to thank everyone who leaves such lovely comments on my projects. I just want to express my appreciation for your encouragement and compliments on my creative journey. You are all greatly appreciated!
  • See What Else I’m Up To…

  • RSS Lotus Mahal

  • RSS Ditch the Grid

  • 2010 Creative Goals

    *Make more aprons
    *Make a coffee cup cozy for me!
    *Make a mug cozy
    *Alter a book – completely, with highlights from each month of 2010.
    *Journal more.
    *Pin Cushions!
    *A needle keeper too.
    *Produce bags.
    *Muslin sacks for bulk items like seeds and nuts and rice and such, too.
    *Re-usable sandwich wraps.
    *Budget envelopes.
    *Learn to crochet and knit.
    *Continue embroidering and get better at it.
    *Take more pictures.
    *Learning to sprout wheat
    *Learn to make my own bread with sprouted grain
    *Learn to make mead and wine
    *Learn to make cheese and yogurt from scratch.
    *Experiment with grinding my own grains
    *Do more canning

  • Though Shalt Not Steal

Sewing…and such…

I still have a few Christmas presents to make.  Actually, more than a few.  But I picked up three lengths of the most fabulous embroidered baby-wale cordoury yesterday.  One is light blue with little snowflakes, another is dark blue with swirly butterflies and the other is black with red and pink swirls.  I have images of three different styles of skirts for my Fall/Winter 2009-10 wardrobe.

The blue snowflake I want to make into a simple wrap skirt.  The dark blue with butterflies I want to make into what (in my mind) I’m calling the Petal Skirt.  It’ll have four panels, each with a bit of a flair at the bottom, and the very bottom seam of each panel will be rounded.   I’m not sure how to explain it, exactly – but basically each panel will look like a petal.  The black and pink I want to make into a “Split Skirt” – a basic A-line skirt using three panels, but the two front panels will be split and another coordinating fabric will peak out from underneath.  I have some luscious sari fabric in a hot pink and gold.  I think that would be an amazing combination.

Please excuse the rudimentary sketches – but this is roughly what I have in mind for the petal skirt and the split skirt:

The Petal Skirt is the one on the left, and the split is the one on the right.  Each will have a zipper closure and will be about knee length.  I didn’t do a sketch of the wrap skirt, because – well, it’s just a simple wrap skirt!  But I think they’ll look fabulous with some tights and boots for the rest of fall and through winter.  Warm too, being cordoury!

In other news, I bought myself a new camera last night.  I had been using a Nikon CoolPics for about a year and a half.  Actually “fighting” might be a better word than “using”.  I don’t think it’s me, because generally I’m a pretty decent photographer (no Ansel Adams, but still) – but I couldn’t get a decent, clear, in-focus shot out of that camera to save my ever-lovin’ life.  I had had it “up to here”.  So I laid down a couple hundred bucks and got myself a nicer camera.  It’s a step above a point and click – but in playing around with it last night it’s clear that it’s a superior camera.  Looking forward to playing with it more, and posting better pictures to the blogs.

So – onward to more sewing and crafting happiness, and additional postings for the AEDM Challenge…

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Edit: A quick update.  My lovely logger man didn’t get eaten by a mountain lion the other night.  It was just long after dark when he made it out of the mountains.  He had to get the wood stove fired up and something in his belly before he gave me a call to let me know he was still alive.  🙂

Leave a Reply

