• Welcome to My Creative Year!

    Thanks so much for coming to see what I've been up to. I'm in the midst of a self-challenge to *create* for a year straight. I needed something to fill a weird void I was feeling, and exploring different styles of art and creativity seems to fit the bill! So, Welcome! I'm glad you've come for a visit...
  • Heartfelt Thanks

    I don't always have a chance to thank everyone who leaves such lovely comments on my projects. I just want to express my appreciation for your encouragement and compliments on my creative journey. You are all greatly appreciated!
  • See What Else I’m Up To…

  • RSS Lotus Mahal

  • RSS Ditch the Grid

  • 2010 Creative Goals

    *Make more aprons
    *Make a coffee cup cozy for me!
    *Make a mug cozy
    *Alter a book – completely, with highlights from each month of 2010.
    *Journal more.
    *Pin Cushions!
    *A needle keeper too.
    *Produce bags.
    *Muslin sacks for bulk items like seeds and nuts and rice and such, too.
    *Re-usable sandwich wraps.
    *Budget envelopes.
    *Learn to crochet and knit.
    *Continue embroidering and get better at it.
    *Take more pictures.
    *Learning to sprout wheat
    *Learn to make my own bread with sprouted grain
    *Learn to make mead and wine
    *Learn to make cheese and yogurt from scratch.
    *Experiment with grinding my own grains
    *Do more canning

  • Though Shalt Not Steal

Christmas crafting

aedmlogored

Another entry for the AEDM Challenge.  Today’s update actually encompassess the past three days – I just haven’t taken the time to download the pictures and type away.

 

I spent the weekend getting started on my Christmas gift projects – I got two complete and started on a third.

DSCN0646

I had to put on a DVD of 1960s stop-action classics just to add to the mood.  Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer is always a favorite!

DSCN0640

Last week I found a rotary cutter and mat in the clearance section at JoAnn Fabrics – and I just admit I’ve become a HUGE fan!  This makes everything easier!  So I cut up the fabric for scarf #1 and patched it together

DSCN0648

After I had it nearly all together, I remembered that I wanted to embroider something on it.  Luckily I hadn’t done the top stitching, and closed it up completely yet, so I was able to add Merry Christmas on one end of the inside layer:

DSCN0655

So with that, I top stitched and closed up the final end and finished Christmas gift #1 of the weekend:

DSCN0671

I like that’s it’s super long, so the recipient can wrap it around their neck a bunch of times and keep toasty warm…

This morning I started on scarf #2, which turned out just beautiful.  I really, really like it.  So much so that I might try to recreate one for myself!

DSCN0675

I failed to take any pictures in the making process of this one – so you just get the finished product.  But I really like it.

The next project I’m working on is a felt crown for my nephew.  Right now I’m waiting for some glue to dry, but I have many ideas for this one:

DSCN0678

 

I think I’m done for tonight.  It’s almost 7 o’clock, and I’m anxiously awaiting a call from my lovely gentleman friend.  Last I heard from him, it was 11:30 this morning, he had been hiking in for four hours and was commenting on all the mountain lion tracks in the foot of fresh snow.  Hmmmm…  Hunters.  I swear…

Guess I’ll clean up my mess, make myself another cup of tea and give him until 8 o’clock before I get officially worried…

DSCN0642

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

3 Responses

  1. The scarves are great. I especially like the blue one because it is so Christmasy, but the other is very elegant looking. Your nephew, no doubt, will be thrilled with the crown. Hope you hear from your friend soon. Worrying is no fun.

  2. Awesome! Another Christmas-Special junkie! I love it! I love all the old claymation/stop-action specials from when we were kids..l.

  3. I love that you put Rudolph on to work to. It is not Christmas for me unless I see Rudolph and Charlie Brown and it doesn’t matter how old I get! ha-ha. If I miss the network airing – thank God for DVD’s!

Leave a Reply

