• Welcome to My Creative Year!

    Thanks so much for coming to see what I've been up to. I'm in the midst of a self-challenge to *create* for a year straight. I needed something to fill a weird void I was feeling, and exploring different styles of art and creativity seems to fit the bill! So, Welcome! I'm glad you've come for a visit...
  • Heartfelt Thanks

    I don't always have a chance to thank everyone who leaves such lovely comments on my projects. I just want to express my appreciation for your encouragement and compliments on my creative journey. You are all greatly appreciated!
  • See What Else I’m Up To…

  • RSS Lotus Mahal

  • RSS Ditch the Grid

  • 2010 Creative Goals

    *Make more aprons
    *Make a coffee cup cozy for me!
    *Make a mug cozy
    *Alter a book – completely, with highlights from each month of 2010.
    *Journal more.
    *Pin Cushions!
    *A needle keeper too.
    *Produce bags.
    *Muslin sacks for bulk items like seeds and nuts and rice and such, too.
    *Re-usable sandwich wraps.
    *Budget envelopes.
    *Learn to crochet and knit.
    *Continue embroidering and get better at it.
    *Take more pictures.
    *Learning to sprout wheat
    *Learn to make my own bread with sprouted grain
    *Learn to make mead and wine
    *Learn to make cheese and yogurt from scratch.
    *Experiment with grinding my own grains
    *Do more canning

  • Though Shalt Not Steal

Cozy, isn’t it?

aedmlogored

Another submission in the AEDM Challenge.  (Dunno what number it is, maybe #7?)

Ho Ho Ho – Here we GOOOOOOO!

So I began delving into my creative Christmas projects with sewing project number one.  I’m hesitant to say who it’s for, and hopefully that person doesn’t come a-visitin’ the blog before the holidays.  (I made a coffee cup cozy for disposable coffee cups – shhhhh don’t tell, okay?)

DSCN0611

It’s funny how I hated math and geometry in high school – so much so that I avoided all math classes in college.  I even chose my course of study by the number (or lack of) math classes required to graduate.  But now, many years later, I enjoy drawing patterns.

DSCN0613

I cut some rectangles and ironed them in half to stitch them to contrasting fabric.

DSCN0617

I thought I was doing pretty good, until I tried to piece them together for a diamond of white fabric surrounded by the groovy retro pattern.  😉  I’ll admit I’m no quilter – and it shows.  heh heh

DSCN0621 DSCN0622

Actually, the only part that was kinda screwed up was the center piece.  I kind of like the way the rest is sort of rough.

Bella wasn’t too sure, though.  She hid from the prospect of what might be:

DSCN0619

But in the end, it turned out okay – dispite the puppers fears…

I trimmed out the pattern from the patchwork and some plain white cotten for the lining, and also some fleece left over from Bella’s puppy coat project to add insulation.

DSCN0628

Top stitched around the whole thing and stuffed it with the fleece…

DSCN0632

Then hand-stitched up the back seam to make it a permanent cuff.  And voila!  A cup cozy – fit for disposable coffee cups from coffee shops – or pint glasses!

DSCN0637DSCN0636DSCN0633

I actually did mean to embroider a little coffee cup on the front, but I got carried away with sewing and forgot. Oops.  Maybe I’ll make another one.  This may just be a proto-type.  We’ll see.

And just because doggy pictures are cute – I’m gonna add one more.  🙂

DSCN0627

Have a good evening everyone!

Leave a Reply

