• Welcome to My Creative Year!

    Thanks so much for coming to see what I've been up to. I'm in the midst of a self-challenge to *create* for a year straight. I needed something to fill a weird void I was feeling, and exploring different styles of art and creativity seems to fit the bill! So, Welcome! I'm glad you've come for a visit...
  • Heartfelt Thanks

    I don't always have a chance to thank everyone who leaves such lovely comments on my projects. I just want to express my appreciation for your encouragement and compliments on my creative journey. You are all greatly appreciated!
  • See What Else I’m Up To…

  • RSS Lotus Mahal

  • RSS Ditch the Grid

  • 2010 Creative Goals

    *Make more aprons
    *Make a coffee cup cozy for me!
    *Make a mug cozy
    *Alter a book – completely, with highlights from each month of 2010.
    *Journal more.
    *Pin Cushions!
    *A needle keeper too.
    *Produce bags.
    *Muslin sacks for bulk items like seeds and nuts and rice and such, too.
    *Re-usable sandwich wraps.
    *Budget envelopes.
    *Learn to crochet and knit.
    *Continue embroidering and get better at it.
    *Take more pictures.
    *Learning to sprout wheat
    *Learn to make my own bread with sprouted grain
    *Learn to make mead and wine
    *Learn to make cheese and yogurt from scratch.
    *Experiment with grinding my own grains
    *Do more canning

  • Though Shalt Not Steal

A stitching fiend…

aedmlogored

More stitching to be had!

Most weekends I spend up at my lovely gentleman friend’s cabin in the mountains, and there’s no internet service up there – so that means no updates.  But since it’s hunting season, I had plenty of time to get some more stitching done on my project while he scouted the mountains in search of elk and deer.  I didn’t take any pictures in the process of sewing, but I have the after affects below.

I worked on some flowers:

DSCN0568DSCN0569

Huh – the two pictures almost match up!  The blue flower on the left is called a Lazy Daisy, the green and blue flower on the right is called  Lazy Lotus.  Both incorporated a separated chain stitch to make the petals of the flower.  I still have to add some French Knots to both, but I think those are going to be the last stitch I learn how to do.

I also worked on some simple cross stitch (in pink and blue) down each side:

DSCN0571

And finished up with stitching the words and doing a couple of leaves.

DSCN0572

The word “Stitches” was done in a split stitch – which seemed a little heavy for the lettering.  The words “I Know” were done using a back stitch, which I like much better.  It was easier to control, and came out looking more fine – better for the letters.  The leaves were done using a stem stitch for the outline, and an altered herringbone for the veins of the leaves.

So here’s the latest full project update picture:

DSCN0574

I’m almost done with this project – I’m pretty excited!  It’s taken me about a week, just working a couple hours at the most each day.  And, as I’ve said before, I’m really enjoying this.  I’ve already picked out my next project that I’ll start in earnest as soon as this one is done.  I only have some simple brick stitches to do around the border, a few more large scallops on the top and bottom, two twinkle stitches that I missed and then to add the french knots.  So I’m thinking I should have it done tomorrow night.  Yay!

Thanks to everyone for your super supportive comments and encouragement on my stitching project.  I appreciate you all!  🙂

3 Responses

  1. Weekends as rest time is all good for me – I totally support that because we all need some downtime and perhaps also time away from the internet! 😛 Love hate relationship! Great progress…I think you are fast!!!

  2. Your stitching is so dainty – I love how it looks!

  3. It’s gorgeous!!! I worked for a few more hours on mine. 🙂 I’ll share tomorrow. Maybe I should share what stitches I am doing too, it might help me memorize and learn them too! LOL

Leave a Reply

