• Welcome to My Creative Year!

    Thanks so much for coming to see what I've been up to. I'm in the midst of a self-challenge to *create* for a year straight. I needed something to fill a weird void I was feeling, and exploring different styles of art and creativity seems to fit the bill! So, Welcome! I'm glad you've come for a visit...
  • Heartfelt Thanks

    I don't always have a chance to thank everyone who leaves such lovely comments on my projects. I just want to express my appreciation for your encouragement and compliments on my creative journey. You are all greatly appreciated!
  • See What Else I’m Up To…

  • RSS Lotus Mahal

  • RSS Ditch the Grid

  • 2010 Creative Goals

    *Make more aprons
    *Make a coffee cup cozy for me!
    *Make a mug cozy
    *Alter a book – completely, with highlights from each month of 2010.
    *Journal more.
    *Pin Cushions!
    *A needle keeper too.
    *Produce bags.
    *Muslin sacks for bulk items like seeds and nuts and rice and such, too.
    *Re-usable sandwich wraps.
    *Budget envelopes.
    *Learn to crochet and knit.
    *Continue embroidering and get better at it.
    *Take more pictures.
    *Learning to sprout wheat
    *Learn to make my own bread with sprouted grain
    *Learn to make mead and wine
    *Learn to make cheese and yogurt from scratch.
    *Experiment with grinding my own grains
    *Do more canning

  • Though Shalt Not Steal

Whew! I’m gettin’ gutsy!

Ha!  That’s funny.  🙂

aedmlogored

Here’s entry #4 in the AEDM Challenge…

Of course, I’m continuing on with the embroidery project.  I’m seriously becoming obsessed with embroidery!  It’s beyond fun!  It’s relaxing, and believe it or not, so far it’s pretty easy…  Now, to be fair, I’m not exactly partaking in a complicated pattern.  But it’s coming along really well.

 

Tonight I worked on three new stitches.

.DSCN0566

(I really love how colorful it is!  I’m trying to do each new stitch in a different color – but tonight I did two in red because I put too much thread on my needle)

The first one (the red stitches along the side) is called an Open Cretan.

DSCN0539

In the book, Jenny Hart made it sound a little intimidating.  But once I did a few passes, I got it in my head and it was no problem.  I like this one – it looks really great when it’s finished.

The second stitch I did was a simple Herringbone.  This is the other stitch I did in red along the top.

DSCN0547

This one I got gutsy on!  When I finished the stitch across the top, it was pretty loose:

DSCN0550

I looked at her finished project in the book and noticed that she tacked the cross points – so what the heck – I did the same! *AND* I used a different color thread!  Whew!  I am getting gutsy!  LOL

DSCN0552 DSCN0554

Doesn’t that look nice?  🙂

The last stitch I worked on tonight was called a Scalloping Chain:

DSCN0560

This was a pretty easy stitch – but the one thing I noticed with the thread that I used on this one, and the white thread I used on my cross points on the herringbone stitch, is that it’s so super slippery that it separates too easily.  So it ends up looking a little sloppy.  So I can see that some of the fancier threads are going to be a little more difficult to work with.  I read something somewhere about a thread stabilizer – I might have to look into that if I want to use those types of threads in the future.

So I was at it for about two hours tonight.  Enjoying every single second of it.  I think tomorrow night I might work on my flowers.  They incorporate separated chain stitches – so they’re ones I’ve already learned – just doing them a little different.  And maybe I’ll work on the french knots, too.  Those kind of scare me.  Dunno why – but they do.

 

DSCN0541

Bella was none too impressed with my gutsy moves tonight.

I’ll have to try harder to impress her next time.

Maybe I should embroider a cat.  🙂

12 Responses

  1. Great progress! Looks wonderful!

  2. The embroidery looks like so much fun! And aw, Bella is sweet.

  3. Oh it’s beautiful!!!! I am getting obsessed with Embroidery too, if only I had a bit more time to work on it. Here’s mine http://julieannshahin.blogspot.com/2009/11/for-love-of-stitch.html I was thinking of getting Jenni Hart’s book or asking it for Christmas, I’m glad to hear that you like it!!!

    xoxo,
    ja
    aedm

  4. It looks like a lot of fun. Love the happy colors. 🙂

  5. What a bright and cheerful project. Thanks for showing your stitches in detail. Hooray for being gutsy.

  6. I love the bright colours, it’s beautiful.

  7. What lovely stitching you create. Wow. I bet it was two hours of bliss. So grateful you shared with us here… lol… the cat idea is amusing, too!

  8. Your stitches look great! This brought back my childhood – my entire family went thru a period where we all embroidered shirts for ourselves. What fun! Maybe I should pick up my needle again.

  9. Sweet Bella is admiring your lovely work and taking part in the process. 😀

  10. Thanks for the pictures and stitch descriptions. It was very informative. I love the bright colors and varied stitches.

  11. wow! I’ve never seen this kind of embroidery. It is very precise work! You make me want to try it. 🙂

  12. Nice! I’m very inspired to embroider. Nice work and photos!

Leave a Reply

