• Welcome to My Creative Year!

    Thanks so much for coming to see what I've been up to. I'm in the midst of a self-challenge to *create* for a year straight. I needed something to fill a weird void I was feeling, and exploring different styles of art and creativity seems to fit the bill! So, Welcome! I'm glad you've come for a visit...
  • Heartfelt Thanks

    I don't always have a chance to thank everyone who leaves such lovely comments on my projects. I just want to express my appreciation for your encouragement and compliments on my creative journey. You are all greatly appreciated!
  • See What Else I’m Up To…

  • RSS Lotus Mahal

  • RSS Ditch the Grid

  • 2010 Creative Goals

    *Make more aprons
    *Make a coffee cup cozy for me!
    *Make a mug cozy
    *Alter a book – completely, with highlights from each month of 2010.
    *Journal more.
    *Pin Cushions!
    *A needle keeper too.
    *Produce bags.
    *Muslin sacks for bulk items like seeds and nuts and rice and such, too.
    *Re-usable sandwich wraps.
    *Budget envelopes.
    *Learn to crochet and knit.
    *Continue embroidering and get better at it.
    *Take more pictures.
    *Learning to sprout wheat
    *Learn to make my own bread with sprouted grain
    *Learn to make mead and wine
    *Learn to make cheese and yogurt from scratch.
    *Experiment with grinding my own grains
    *Do more canning

  • Though Shalt Not Steal

More Sublime Stitching!

aedmlogoredDay #2 on Leah’s Art Every Day Month Challenge. (And I still haven’t figured out how to get the button on the sidebar.  I’ve tried everything to no avail. 😦  If anyone uses WordPress and can help me out with this, I’d greatly appreciate it!)

I had a great time last night experimenting with embroidery, so I decided I would definitely continue on…  In fact, if this keeps up, I may find myself a woman possessed!  🙂

I pulled a transfer pattern out of the back of “Embroidered Effects,” the fabulous book by Jenny Hart of Sublime Stitching that I picked up yesterday.  I chose one that incorporated all kinds of different stitches.  I felt this would be the best one to use to familiarize myself with embroidery.

One of the things that I’ve found about this book is that the transfers in the back are “for real” transfers that you can iron onto your fabric.  No fancy transfer papers or pens needed.  Just rip it out and iron away.  And not only that – but you can use them more than once!  In fact, it took me four tries to get it transferred appropriately onto my muslin.

DSCN0501

(This isn’t the final one – I figured out after I did this one that my fabric was too small and didn’t allow for the slack to be able to stitch the edge designs.  So I had to do it one more time on a  larger piece of fabric.  Good thing I have a ton of muslin!)

Another useful thing about this book, and this pattern in particular, is that it has a map!  It tells you which stitches to use, then you can look in the back and find the instruction pages for those stitches.  How user-friendly!!!

DSCN0508

So I began:

DSCN0506

I worked on two different stitches tonight – the fern stitch and the twinkle stitch.  I had to laugh – in the instructions for the fern stitch, she had a “cheater” version, which (I’m embarrassed to say) was the easiest one for me to grasp.  So I cheated.  🙂  But hey – it turned out pretty!

DSCN0510

She also presented two different ways to do the twinkle.  I’m not sure exactly how to explain them, but one definitely worked better for me than the other.

DSCN0515

(You can tell the twinkle at the bottom of the picture is not nearly as tidy as the one at the top.  The one at the top is obviously the one that worked better for me.  You basically just stitch toward the center for each finger of the twinkle.)

So this is how far I’ve come so far.  I may try a couple more stitches tonight, but I’m pretty happy with the way it’s turning out so far.  And I must admit that I’m enjoying this form of creativity more than any other one I’ve tried so far in My Creative Year.  It’s instantly pretty, and it has instant gratification.  🙂  Two “musts” in my world.

DSCN0516

One Response

  1. Ooo, lovely to see your work as it progresses! BTW, about WordPress, you would have to add a widget that allows you to add coding or edit the sidebar code itself…perhaps a bit too technical? Feel free to email me, I can help!

Leave a Reply

