• Welcome to My Creative Year!

    Thanks so much for coming to see what I've been up to. I'm in the midst of a self-challenge to *create* for a year straight. I needed something to fill a weird void I was feeling, and exploring different styles of art and creativity seems to fit the bill! So, Welcome! I'm glad you've come for a visit...
  • Heartfelt Thanks

    I don't always have a chance to thank everyone who leaves such lovely comments on my projects. I just want to express my appreciation for your encouragement and compliments on my creative journey. You are all greatly appreciated!
  • See What Else I’m Up To…

  • RSS Lotus Mahal

  • RSS Ditch the Grid

  • 2010 Creative Goals

    *Make more aprons
    *Make a coffee cup cozy for me!
    *Make a mug cozy
    *Alter a book – completely, with highlights from each month of 2010.
    *Journal more.
    *Pin Cushions!
    *A needle keeper too.
    *Produce bags.
    *Muslin sacks for bulk items like seeds and nuts and rice and such, too.
    *Re-usable sandwich wraps.
    *Budget envelopes.
    *Learn to crochet and knit.
    *Continue embroidering and get better at it.
    *Take more pictures.
    *Learning to sprout wheat
    *Learn to make my own bread with sprouted grain
    *Learn to make mead and wine
    *Learn to make cheese and yogurt from scratch.
    *Experiment with grinding my own grains
    *Do more canning

  • Though Shalt Not Steal

It doesn’t appear to be much, but…

aedmlogoredI’m going to try my hand at participating in Leah’s Art Every Day Month challenge…  I put down My Creative Year a few months ago to engage in the art of daily living.  I gardened, canned, baked and explored living creatively under different circumstances – learning old skills to enhance a new life.  But now I’m coming back full circle to the actual productive form of creativity and art.

 

 

When I first began MyCreativeYear, I was all over the place with painting, mixed media, stamping…  all kinds of different forms.  My favorite project, I think, was my portable shrine to inner peace.  I still use it, and bring it with me on business trips when I know I’m gonna need some inner peace.

This fall, however, I find myself wanting to take up fabrics, and threads, and yarns.  Items that are warm and soft to the touch. Creative projects that  incorporate older skills.  I’ve been doing some sewing lately, and the list if things I’d like to try to create keeps growing.  I’d also like to try my hand at knitting.  Something I intend to try this winter.  Luckily, I already know how to sew.  Knitting is going to be a whole new ball of wax.

But before I try knitting, I found another project I want to try.  Embroidery.

I came across the book “Embroidered Effects” by the founder of Sublime Stitching, Jenny Hart.

embroideredeffects_cover_1

“Sublime” is the word, for sure.  She does amazing work, and it’s *sew* inspirational!  So I indulged myself and bought the book. Then went across the street to Michael’s to buy a hoop and some thread.  I haven’t read the book yet (mostly because it’s only been in my possession for about three hours), but I thumbed through and looked at some of the beautiful pictures.

I dug out some muslin that was taking up room in my fabric bin, placed it in the hoop, threaded some purple thread and just went free form.  I only tried one stitch and wound it around on the fabric until I ran out of thread.  It’s nothing special, by any means, but it’s a beginning.  An experiment.  Now I’m going to go back to the book and start reading – and will pick up some transfer paper tomorrow so I can try my hand at a project that may actually look like something when I’m done.  🙂

DSCN0535 DSCN0536 DSCN0537

Oh, and in case you’re interested, Jenny Hart has some of the most fun and fabulous embroidery pattern packs on her Web site – you have to check them out!

So, hopefully there will be more to come in the realm of embroidery, knitting, sewing and stitching of various degrees this winter.  Stay tuned!

2 Responses

  1. Thanks so much! It was actually really fun. I can’t wait to try some more!

  2. Great work…embroidery requires a lot of patience and I totally admire that!

Leave a Reply

