• Welcome to My Creative Year!

    Thanks so much for coming to see what I've been up to. I'm in the midst of a self-challenge to *create* for a year straight. I needed something to fill a weird void I was feeling, and exploring different styles of art and creativity seems to fit the bill! So, Welcome! I'm glad you've come for a visit...
  • Heartfelt Thanks

    I don't always have a chance to thank everyone who leaves such lovely comments on my projects. I just want to express my appreciation for your encouragement and compliments on my creative journey. You are all greatly appreciated!
  • See What Else I’m Up To…

  • RSS Lotus Mahal

  • RSS Ditch the Grid

  • 2010 Creative Goals

    *Make more aprons
    *Make a coffee cup cozy for me!
    *Make a mug cozy
    *Alter a book – completely, with highlights from each month of 2010.
    *Journal more.
    *Pin Cushions!
    *A needle keeper too.
    *Produce bags.
    *Muslin sacks for bulk items like seeds and nuts and rice and such, too.
    *Re-usable sandwich wraps.
    *Budget envelopes.
    *Learn to crochet and knit.
    *Continue embroidering and get better at it.
    *Take more pictures.
    *Learning to sprout wheat
    *Learn to make my own bread with sprouted grain
    *Learn to make mead and wine
    *Learn to make cheese and yogurt from scratch.
    *Experiment with grinding my own grains
    *Do more canning

  • Though Shalt Not Steal

Bella’s got a Puppy Coat!

Wow.  It’s been a while since I’ve updated any of my blogs.  But I’m back, and still being creative.  🙂

The summer was filled with gardening, hiking, swimming and general hanging out.  Autumn has been filled with harvesting, canning and hunting.  I fit a little bit of actual paid work somewhere in the mix, and now I’m back to my writing, blogging, creating and picture taking.

First up?  A puppy coat for my little Bella Boo.

I take Bella to work with me most days, and when we pile into the Jeep on these cold Montana mornings, I notice her shivering.  Poor pup.  She’s a pitt bull-lab mix, and has pretty short fur.  Parts of her hardly have any fur at all, like her tummy and her hind.  So I went to JoAnn and picked up the cutest fleece with little black paw prints.  I loved that it was black and white, just like Bella.

DSCN0509
I laid out three layers of the fleece – and since it’s fleece, it didn’t need a turned hem.  Gotta love simplicity!

DSCN0516

The tabs/fasteners/whatever you want to call ’ems, are made from some left over bridal satin I had from making the apron for my friend’s bachlorette party back in March.  Gotta be frugal and use what’s around in these economic times!  Besides, it didn’t have any stretch to it, which the fleece does.  That way the fasteners are more secure.  I hemed them, then turned them inside out and top stiched around the edges so they were more sturdy.  Finished with strips of velcro for easy attaching to the pup.

DSCN0518

Isn’t that a face only a mother could love?  It’s like she’s looking at me saying “Aw Ma – Do I have to?”  LOL  Since she was a little less than cooperative with the tape measure, the fastener tabs are a little long.  I’ll have to add a couple tabs of velcro to “pin down” the extra slack.  But otherwise, there’s Bella’s puppy coat!  I’m sure she’ll be much warmer with it on.  Her first experience with it – when I took this picture – was kind of like she was humoring me, but somewhat annoyed.  I took it off her, did a little trimming on some of the edges, then put it back on her – the second time she seemed a little more tolerent.  She even jumped up on the couch and hung out with it on for a while.  🙂  She’ll be happy with it once the *real* Montana winter sets in.

3 Responses

  1. […] Sewing: A doggy coat for my little Bella Boo […]

  2. Hmmm – wonder why it bounced back. But thanks! I look forward to participating! 🙂

  3. Such a cute coat!!

    I just tried to email you to say I’ve added your blog to the list of Art Every Day Month participants, but the email bounced back. Anyways, thanks for joining in!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

