• Welcome to My Creative Year!

    Thanks so much for coming to see what I've been up to. I'm in the midst of a self-challenge to *create* for a year straight. I needed something to fill a weird void I was feeling, and exploring different styles of art and creativity seems to fit the bill! So, Welcome! I'm glad you've come for a visit...
  • Heartfelt Thanks

    I don't always have a chance to thank everyone who leaves such lovely comments on my projects. I just want to express my appreciation for your encouragement and compliments on my creative journey. You are all greatly appreciated!
  • See What Else I’m Up To…

  • RSS Lotus Mahal

  • RSS Ditch the Grid

  • 2010 Creative Goals

    *Make more aprons
    *Make a coffee cup cozy for me!
    *Make a mug cozy
    *Alter a book – completely, with highlights from each month of 2010.
    *Journal more.
    *Pin Cushions!
    *A needle keeper too.
    *Produce bags.
    *Muslin sacks for bulk items like seeds and nuts and rice and such, too.
    *Re-usable sandwich wraps.
    *Budget envelopes.
    *Learn to crochet and knit.
    *Continue embroidering and get better at it.
    *Take more pictures.
    *Learning to sprout wheat
    *Learn to make my own bread with sprouted grain
    *Learn to make mead and wine
    *Learn to make cheese and yogurt from scratch.
    *Experiment with grinding my own grains
    *Do more canning

  • Though Shalt Not Steal

Altered Books (again), Art Supplies and a lesson in painting.

I’m so very excited to be starting an online (12-week) class on Altered Books with Elizabeth at the Altered Book Lover blog.  The class officially begins tomorrow.  I’ve tried a couple times to start a full-on altered book, but alas, got mired down in the gluing of pages.  Since being invited to this class I’ve been thinking a bit about the approach.  While Elizabeth will guide us through the process with her gentle hand, I can’t help but wonder how my own interpretation of the project will go.  I’m excited, to say the least.  I’ve had my book picked out for a couple weeks, but I’ve been struggling with a legitimate “theme.”  But today, I decided that I will not have a theme, and that will be my theme.  The theme of randomness and exploration.

How can I decide on a theme when I don’t know how the book will feel yet?  I know from experience that the book will tell me what it wants when I get to that stage.  Things speak to me.  When I move into a new house, I wait for the rooms to tell me what they want from me – then I do it.  When a new animal comes into my life, I wait for them to tell me their name – and that’s that.  So this book, I am confident, will let me know the theme when we get to that point.

Today I visited Michaels – mainly because I was looking for some letter stamps.  Boy, what a haul I made!  I love their bargain section.  In addition to the letter stamps (which, consequently, weren’t in the bargain section), I picked up about 6 or 7 rubber stamps that were $1 each, some lovely 3D butterfly stickers, little sticky rhinestone and some lovely, shiny silver words (Family, Love, Believe, Hope – a whole bunch of inspiring words – 9 in all).  With the exception of my letter stamps, everything else was a dollar or less.  Cha-Ching!  Score!  I adore art supplies.  Just their mere existance is joyous.

Rubber Stamps Silver Words Butterflies

So my “lesson” in painting may be a little mis-leading.  It’s not like I’m taking painting lessons, nor did I have a mishap that lead to a lesson-learned.  I just thought I would try my hand at painting this evening.  Of course using my pretty, shiny metallic paints (and NO glitter!).  🙂  I haven’t painted on a canvas since college, so I figured there was no time like the present.  The end result will be my contribution to the Inspire Me Thursday challenge of Swirls for this week.  I will, with any luck, be posting the pictures tomorrow sometime.

In the meantime – may your days be filled with art supplies and utter joy.

One Response

  1. You and I think a lot a like. I do exactly the same thing in new rooms, pet names and ideas. But you express it better than I ever could.

    Love Michaels’s $1 section. I have a few of the same stamps that you do. You can see the decorative image on the Mom’s card on my blog.

    I really look forward to seeing your painting.

    Jeanette

Leave a Reply

