• Welcome to My Creative Year!

    Thanks so much for coming to see what I've been up to. I'm in the midst of a self-challenge to *create* for a year straight. I needed something to fill a weird void I was feeling, and exploring different styles of art and creativity seems to fit the bill! So, Welcome! I'm glad you've come for a visit...
  • Heartfelt Thanks

    I don't always have a chance to thank everyone who leaves such lovely comments on my projects. I just want to express my appreciation for your encouragement and compliments on my creative journey. You are all greatly appreciated!
  • See What Else I’m Up To…

  • RSS Lotus Mahal

  • RSS Ditch the Grid

  • 2010 Creative Goals

    *Make more aprons
    *Make a coffee cup cozy for me!
    *Make a mug cozy
    *Alter a book – completely, with highlights from each month of 2010.
    *Journal more.
    *Pin Cushions!
    *A needle keeper too.
    *Produce bags.
    *Muslin sacks for bulk items like seeds and nuts and rice and such, too.
    *Re-usable sandwich wraps.
    *Budget envelopes.
    *Learn to crochet and knit.
    *Continue embroidering and get better at it.
    *Take more pictures.
    *Learning to sprout wheat
    *Learn to make my own bread with sprouted grain
    *Learn to make mead and wine
    *Learn to make cheese and yogurt from scratch.
    *Experiment with grinding my own grains
    *Do more canning

  • Though Shalt Not Steal

Portable Shrine to Inner Peace

If you ask my co-workers, last Friday was indeed a rather stressful day for me.  So much so, that my boss kicked me out of the office at 11 a.m.

I spent the rest of the day in yoga practice, the steam room at the gym, drinking wine mid-afternoon in an empty restaurant, then hiking up the beautiful valley that rests behind my house.  It was during this impromptu afternoon-long sabbatical that I got the idea for the Portable Shrine to Inner Peace.  It would be something small enough to fit in my bag.  A Shrine that could be put up and concentrated on at a moment’s notice.  Something that needed no preparation beyond pulling it out and opening it up.

Stone Cairn

I have a wonderful deck of cards portraying different Indian Gods and Goddesses.  I did some research and found an Indian Goddess, Gayatri Devi, who really spoke to me.  Some consider her to be the mother of all Gods and the culmination of Lakshmi, Parvati and Sarasvati.  A Divine awakening of the mind and soul.  According to the deck, she governs over clarity of mind and concentration – exactly what I needed.

Gayatri Devi

The OM was something that simply found its way onto my lips that Friday afternoon.  While it wasn’t invoked in my yoga class, I used it throughout the afternoon to re-center my mind and bring attention to my Chakras when the stresses began to creep back in.

OM Shanti OMMMMMM

I’m thinking this will be my last piece with glitter glue for a little while.  I’m moving beyond it…  I had to embrace it while it was there, but it’s seeming to lose its “luster” (so to speak).  Although, I am really enjoying metallic paints these days.  Shiny makes me happy – and what better to use on a shrine to inner peace than something that makes my heart sing?

The whole piece is no bigger than 3″ x 4.5″, and less that two inches deep.  Made from a Balsa wood blank found at my not-so-portable Shrine to Crafting (aka: JoAnne Fabric and Crafts).  It’s the perfect size to fit in a pocket in my bag.  And because it has a little hinged lock, there’s nothing that can wreck the inside.

Protective hinge

And there you have it… My Portable Shrine to Inner Peace.

The ShrineToday the Goddess Gayatri Devi is perched over my desk, keeping a watchful eye that I retain my concentration and don’t let stress come into my day.

OM Shanti.

Let there be Peace

Peace, beautiful Peace

Peace Within, Peace Without

Peace in this World

Peace for All Beings

Leave a Reply

