• Welcome to My Creative Year!

    Thanks so much for coming to see what I've been up to. I'm in the midst of a self-challenge to *create* for a year straight. I needed something to fill a weird void I was feeling, and exploring different styles of art and creativity seems to fit the bill! So, Welcome! I'm glad you've come for a visit...
  • Heartfelt Thanks

    I don't always have a chance to thank everyone who leaves such lovely comments on my projects. I just want to express my appreciation for your encouragement and compliments on my creative journey. You are all greatly appreciated!
  • See What Else I’m Up To…

  • RSS Lotus Mahal

  • RSS Ditch the Grid

  • 2010 Creative Goals

    *Make more aprons
    *Make a coffee cup cozy for me!
    *Make a mug cozy
    *Alter a book – completely, with highlights from each month of 2010.
    *Journal more.
    *Pin Cushions!
    *A needle keeper too.
    *Produce bags.
    *Muslin sacks for bulk items like seeds and nuts and rice and such, too.
    *Re-usable sandwich wraps.
    *Budget envelopes.
    *Learn to crochet and knit.
    *Continue embroidering and get better at it.
    *Take more pictures.
    *Learning to sprout wheat
    *Learn to make my own bread with sprouted grain
    *Learn to make mead and wine
    *Learn to make cheese and yogurt from scratch.
    *Experiment with grinding my own grains
    *Do more canning

  • Though Shalt Not Steal

Feather your Nest

Theme Thursday posted a challenge near and dear to my heart: Birds, Eggs and Nests… 🙂  Being a Robin, I just couldn’t refuse!

I took a vintage Easter card, cut it apart a bit and glued it to a little piece of scrapbooking paper (just shy of 5×7), then added my own nest and sparkly happiness in terms of a glittery bird and my all-too-favorite glitter glue outlining…  Someday I’ll run out of glitter and I’ll move on to something else.  But for the time being, the glitter makes me happy.

dscn0052

When I was flipping through a book of scrapbook pop-outs, I came across the “sparkle”  tag, which seemed to make all too much sense… so why not add it?!?

Sparkle Love!

I actually like the way my little nest turned out.  I chopped off some little pieces of raffia and glued them to the egg, then slid my birdy inside.

The Nest

I had fun with this.  Because of my name, I just have an affinity for all things “bird.”  And with adding the nest, I was able to retain my 3-D thing!  Yay!

20 Responses

  1. WOW!!!! What a fantastic piece of art! I just love it!

  2. This is so sweet and the glitter looks awesome. Love that nest also 🙂

  3. Hi Robin! Love your card and what you did with the nest…great idea!!

  4. fabulous dimensionality! Lovely piece!

  5. Wow! You have given your birdie a touch of showbiz and pizzazz! Great work.

  6. Oooh, love this! The glitter is the perfect touch.

  7. Love your bird ATC.

  8. Beautiful card and colors. Love the sparkle!

  9. Love the bird and sparkles!
    Thanks so much for visiting me and leaving such a lovely comment!
    Hugs
    Denise
    oxoxox

  10. lovely atc, the closeups are very nice

  11. Beautiful work!

  12. Great use of raffia and sparkle! Who’d a thunk it?!

  13. You do such beautiful work!

  14. gorgeous!! love it!

  15. This is cute 🙂

  16. OMG this is gorgeous.
    Really lovely.

  17. Ooh! I love glitter – this is awesome! 🙂

  18. Wonderful piece.

  19. sparkling creation!

  20. how fun, love the sparkle

Leave a Reply

