• Welcome to My Creative Year!

    Thanks so much for coming to see what I've been up to. I'm in the midst of a self-challenge to *create* for a year straight. I needed something to fill a weird void I was feeling, and exploring different styles of art and creativity seems to fit the bill! So, Welcome! I'm glad you've come for a visit...
  • Heartfelt Thanks

    I don't always have a chance to thank everyone who leaves such lovely comments on my projects. I just want to express my appreciation for your encouragement and compliments on my creative journey. You are all greatly appreciated!
  • See What Else I’m Up To…

  • RSS Lotus Mahal

  • RSS Ditch the Grid

  • 2010 Creative Goals

    *Make more aprons
    *Make a coffee cup cozy for me!
    *Make a mug cozy
    *Alter a book – completely, with highlights from each month of 2010.
    *Journal more.
    *Pin Cushions!
    *A needle keeper too.
    *Produce bags.
    *Muslin sacks for bulk items like seeds and nuts and rice and such, too.
    *Re-usable sandwich wraps.
    *Budget envelopes.
    *Learn to crochet and knit.
    *Continue embroidering and get better at it.
    *Take more pictures.
    *Learning to sprout wheat
    *Learn to make my own bread with sprouted grain
    *Learn to make mead and wine
    *Learn to make cheese and yogurt from scratch.
    *Experiment with grinding my own grains
    *Do more canning

  • Though Shalt Not Steal

Altred Compact

The lovely blogging ladies at Lots To Do put up a challenge to alter pretty much anything you could think of. So I had seen a post recently on Paper Imagery Designs for an altered compact swap.  How neat!  Altering a used compact?  Perfect!  I had this pretty green one from some Clinique pressed powder, and actually had been using it to store vitamins in my purse.  Much cooler looking than a boring old pharmacy bottle.  So I thought, what the heck, why not see what comes of it.  It’s a super slick compact, and I don’t think I sanded it enough because some of my stuff didn’t stick all that well.  But that’s okay.  I’m back on the Buddha kick, and figured that the spareness of the cover kind of lent itself to the zen.

dscn0019

My mirrors are a little crooked, but that’s okay.  I used hot glue (and let it be known that I am not a fan of that stuff AT ALL!), and unfortunately hot glue doesn’t allow much room for adjustment.  Note to self: next time use regular glue!

dscn0021

I’ll admit that in the picture the greens don’t seem to go together.  But in regular daylight, believe it or not, they seem to compliment each other pretty well.  And of course, there’s my 3-D style because the embellishments stand up off the cover quite a bit.

dscn0026

Not sure if I’ll be able to use the compact for the same purpose anymore.  My purse may be a hostile environment for anything like this.  But for now it looks nice up on top of my rolltop desk with some of my other recent projects.

dscn0028

So in the meantime…

dscn0020

Feel the Zen!!!!

3 Responses

  1. Great idea, looks fab, Jaqi

  2. Hi,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’m impressed with your challenge to yourself. I don’t think you are going to have a problem.

    The compact is beautiful. Have you tried that super duper sticks to anything red tape to hold the embellishments.

    Jeanette

  3. What a stunning piece you have created – beautiful – I love the sleek lines of it and I think that the mirrors being off line add to the piece

    Thanks for joining the Lotstodo challenge with such a gorgeous piece of artwork

    fantastic

    x hilda

Leave a Reply

