• Welcome to My Creative Year!

    Thanks so much for coming to see what I've been up to. I'm in the midst of a self-challenge to *create* for a year straight. I needed something to fill a weird void I was feeling, and exploring different styles of art and creativity seems to fit the bill! So, Welcome! I'm glad you've come for a visit...
  • Heartfelt Thanks

    I don't always have a chance to thank everyone who leaves such lovely comments on my projects. I just want to express my appreciation for your encouragement and compliments on my creative journey. You are all greatly appreciated!
  • See What Else I’m Up To…

  • RSS Lotus Mahal

  • RSS Ditch the Grid

  • 2010 Creative Goals

    *Make more aprons
    *Make a coffee cup cozy for me!
    *Make a mug cozy
    *Alter a book – completely, with highlights from each month of 2010.
    *Journal more.
    *Pin Cushions!
    *A needle keeper too.
    *Produce bags.
    *Muslin sacks for bulk items like seeds and nuts and rice and such, too.
    *Re-usable sandwich wraps.
    *Budget envelopes.
    *Learn to crochet and knit.
    *Continue embroidering and get better at it.
    *Take more pictures.
    *Learning to sprout wheat
    *Learn to make my own bread with sprouted grain
    *Learn to make mead and wine
    *Learn to make cheese and yogurt from scratch.
    *Experiment with grinding my own grains
    *Do more canning

  • Though Shalt Not Steal

I’ll have a Buddha on the Rock(s)

The ladies at Rosie & Linda’s Awfully Big Art Adventure challenged us to “Rock n’ Roll” with an altered rock this week.  I was gonna pluck a brand spanking new rock from the Rattlesnake Creek by my house; however, it’s still covered in snow and ice, and the rocks I could get to were a bit too big.  Maybe even way too big.  So I picked this particular one from my trusty bag o’rocks… (doesn’t everyone have one of those?)

Buddha Stone

I was inspired by the metallic paints that the ladies used on each of their rocks, so I used this Peridot Green metallic.  I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with it.  It’s been sitting, painted, on my kitchen counter for a few days.  I stuck a sticker on the front just so the blankness wasn’t staring at me, but then pulled it off when I proped it up because the sticker was unside down.  A little piece of paint removed itself with the sticker, and suddenly the idea struck me to paste a picture of Buddha on the front.  It’s like when people see The Virgin in a piece of toast?  Well I saw Buddha in a paintless spot on a rock.  LOL

Bud (dah)

Sorry, I don’t have a before-picture…forgot to do that.  It’s a piece of Pipestone from Minnesota.  Kind of a pinkish color rock that’s a really soft consistency – like a super-smooth sandstone.  Native Americans used to use this type of rock to carve their ceremonial pipes from.

Pipestone <<  I didn’t paint the back of the rock, so this is a rough idea what it looked like beforehand.

So instead of carving a pipe, I decoupaged an inkjet printing of the Buddha on the rock, then outlined him with glitter (only because I bought glitter-glue pens this weekend and they’re the joy of my life right now.)  And there you have it.  Buddha on the Rocks.

Thanks for checking him out!

7 Responses

  1. Ooh I love this!

    I’ve just been browsing your blog as you were listed near me on the AB 101 blog and I’m curious to see what other people are up to…

    The great thing about glitter is that when I was younger I believed ever bit of glitter was a fairy or elemental of some sort… mmm… maybe that’s why it gives so much pleasure!

  2. WOW, STUNNING, THIS IS FAB, WELL DONE, JAQI

  3. Really fantastic, your Buddha on the rocks. Enjoyed very much reading all about how it came about as well!
    Beautiful!

  4. Fantastic colours and images. Love the shape also

  5. Love that “Buddha on the Rocks” and you’re quite right that he seems to belong there. Love the glitter glue too – made me think of a seam of diamonds or something! Glad you enjoyed taking part in our challenge.
    Love
    Rosie ABAA

  6. Ooops…forgot the ‘h’…..Buddha.

  7. Now thats a very inspiring paperweight you have created – I love the metallic paint and the glitter. Isn’t it interesting how the lighting changes the look of the two photos?
    (‘Budda on the rocks’ sounds like a cocktail for chilling out!!)
    Linda 🙂
    ABAA

Leave a Reply

