• Welcome to My Creative Year!

    Thanks so much for coming to see what I've been up to. I'm in the midst of a self-challenge to *create* for a year straight. I needed something to fill a weird void I was feeling, and exploring different styles of art and creativity seems to fit the bill! So, Welcome! I'm glad you've come for a visit...
  • Heartfelt Thanks

    I don't always have a chance to thank everyone who leaves such lovely comments on my projects. I just want to express my appreciation for your encouragement and compliments on my creative journey. You are all greatly appreciated!
  • See What Else I’m Up To…

  • RSS Lotus Mahal

  • RSS Ditch the Grid

  • 2010 Creative Goals

    *Make more aprons
    *Make a coffee cup cozy for me!
    *Make a mug cozy
    *Alter a book – completely, with highlights from each month of 2010.
    *Journal more.
    *Pin Cushions!
    *A needle keeper too.
    *Produce bags.
    *Muslin sacks for bulk items like seeds and nuts and rice and such, too.
    *Re-usable sandwich wraps.
    *Budget envelopes.
    *Learn to crochet and knit.
    *Continue embroidering and get better at it.
    *Take more pictures.
    *Learning to sprout wheat
    *Learn to make my own bread with sprouted grain
    *Learn to make mead and wine
    *Learn to make cheese and yogurt from scratch.
    *Experiment with grinding my own grains
    *Do more canning

  • Though Shalt Not Steal

Today is brought to you by the Letter J

J is for Julie.  Julie’s my Mom and today’s the anniversary of her passing.  So I’m mid-way through creating my reliquary dedicated to her, and I’m posting the inside spread that I wanted to get done specifically today.  It just so happens to tie in with the current theme over at the Created Byhand Challenge Web site, “Letter of the Alphabet”.

I’ll post complete photos of the project, along with some lessons learned, when it’s complete.  I still have one small inset to decorate in the front cover along with the facing page, and both covers.  So probably by the end of the week; maybe sooner. I wish glue dried faster.  🙂

dscn0001 dscn0004

The two-page spread and a close-up of the inset in the back of the book.  I may change the picture still – I’m not sure of it yet.  I’ll dig through my pictures and see if I can find one that better matches the “Mountain Mama” lyrics on the facing page.  I left the back page unglued just in case I changed my mind on the photo.  Using la cavesa!

dscn0370

This one’s missing a little bit of the final embellishment – but it was the best close-up I had of this part of the page.

More to come once the project is complete!

17 Responses

  1. A beautiful page Anne

  2. Ha ha – Anne! Yes, I have had all kinds of glue issues lately!!! Those are some of the “lessons” I’ll be sharing when I get this book finished and posted.

    Thanks for visiting! 🙂

  3. It is lovely. Thank you for sharing this. And your mom, it is so nice how smiley her face, in that photo.

    It’s late here now and must go to sleep, but I will have another look at your creative year soon. Saw the APRON.. that is an UBER-apron – I like toile very much- seen an ‘urban’ one over here, usually ever so expensive.

    Good luck with the glue.. you’ve had major glue-ing problems with a few projects, haven’t you..
    estuary_woman (anne)

  4. This is so pretty! What a wonderful way to remember your mom.

  5. Such a lovely tribute!

  6. Such a beautiful tribute to your mom. Beautiful work.

  7. This is a lovely tribute to your mom. Thanks very much for taking the challenge!

  8. Very nice J creation.

  9. very lovely card

  10. Beautiful artwork!!!

  11. beautiful card!

  12. Stunningly Beautiful…

  13. Very nice piece.

  14. Wow this is beautiful.
    Gorgoeus art.

  15. beautiful!

  16. What a beautiful tribute to your mother…your page spread is gorgeous! All good luck with the rest of the project.

Leave a Reply

